The NSW Sky Blues have named an unchanged side for the deciding Game III of the Women’s State of Origin series.

After coming close to wrapping up the series on home soil, before a Queensland fightback led to a 11-10 Maroons win, Sky Blues coach Kylie Hilder has shown faith in the same 17 women to secure the historic decider in Townsville.

NSW forward Olivia Kernick will wear the number 13 for Game III, with Sydney Roosters teammate Keeley Davis to start on the bench wearing the number 15.

Kernick has worn the number 15 jumper in the previous two matches, but started at lock once kick-off arrived.

“Olivia started for us in Games One and Two in the lock position, coming off the bench, so I’ve just formalised that now,” Hilder said.

This year’s Women’s State of Origin is the first to be played over three matches and fittingly will go to a decider.

The Sky Blues took the opening game 22-12 at Lang Park and looked on course to secure a series win in Newcastle when they held a six-point lead in the final 10 minutes.

Loading Twitter content

But a try to Maroons five-eighth Tarryn Aiken nine minutes from full time, followed by a game-winning field goal from centre Lauren Brown secured Queensland a famous comeback win.

“We came very close to wrapping up the series in Game Two, and the girls are very focused that we get another chance to do that in Townsville,” Hilder said.

Next Thursday’s decider in Townsville will kick-off at 7:45pm.

NSW Sky Blues State of Origin team list

1. Emma Tonegato (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

2. Jaime Chapman (Gold Coast Titans)

3. Jess Sergis (Sydney Roosters)

4. Isabelle Kelly (c) (Sydney Roosters)

5. Tiana Penitani (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

6. Corban Baxter (Sydney Roosters)

7. Rachael Pearson (Parramatta Eels)

8. Millie Elliott (Sydney Roosters)

9. Olivia Higgins (Newcastle Knights)

10. Caitlan Johnston-Green (Newcastle Knights)

11. Kezie Apps (c) (Wests Tigers)

12. Yasmin Clydsdale (Newcastle Knights)

13. Olivia Kernick (Sydney Roosters)

14. Taliah Fuimaono (Gold Coast Titans)

15. Keeley Davis (Sydney Roosters)

16. Grace Kemp (Canberra Raiders)

17. Sarah Togatuki (Wests Tigers)

18. Jakiya Whitfeld (North Queensland Cowboys)

19. Kirra Dibb (North Queensland Cowboys)

20. Ellie Johnston (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Sports content to make you think… or allow you not to. A newsletter delivered each Saturday.