A Falcon 9 lifts off Dec. 30 from Vandenberg Space Force Base in California carrying the EROS C3 imaging satellite on SpaceX’s 61st and final launch of 2022. Credit: SpaceX webcast

Space.com: SpaceX launches Israeli reconnaissance satellite, lands rocket in final flight of 2022  

The launch and landing marked SpaceX’s 61st flight in 2022. 

SpaceX rang out 2022 a few days early with a brilliant nighttime launch from California to haul an Israeli reconnaissance satellite into orbit.  

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket launched the Israeli Earth-imaging satellite EROS C-3 into orbit from Vandenberg Space Force Base in California late Thursday night (Dec. 29), releasing the payload into orbit about 15 minutes after leaving Earth. 

Liftoff occurred at 11:38 p.m. PST at the launch site (2:38 a.m. EST/0738 GMT), with the Falcon 9’s first stage returning to land at a nearby SpaceX pad about 8 minutes into the flight.  

Read more ….  

Update #1: Last SpaceX launch of 2022 carries Israeli reconnoissance satellite into orbit (UPI)
 

Update #2: SpaceX Launches Israeli Earth-Imaging Satellite EROS C-3 Into Orbit (Algemeiner)  

WNU Editor: It has been a good year for SpaceX …. SpaceX completes record year with Israeli imaging satellite launch (Space News).