The FIFA Women’s World Cup will be decided tonight, with England and Spain taking to the pitch. 

Here’s what you need to know before kick off. 

What time do England and Spain play tonight?

The Women’s World Cup final kick off time varies depending on which state or territory you’re in:

  • 8pm AEST: ACT NSW, Queensland, Tasmania, Victoria
  • 7.30pm ACST: Northern Territory,  South Australia 
  • 6pm AWST: Western Australia

Where is the World Cup final being played?

Stadium Australia, Sydney/Wangal.

Where can I watch the World Cup final in Australia?

It’s being broadcast on Optus Sport and Channel Seven.

If you’re in the Northern Territory, South Australia, Tasmania or Victoria, it’ll be on 7Mate instead.

ABC Sport is broadcasting live, uninterrupted and commercial-free coverage every day of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup on the ABC listen App, as well as on analogue and digital local radio stations across the country.

We’ll also be blogging the game live here on the ABC News website.

Where are the public viewing sites?

The official FIFA festival sites will screen the game:

  • Adelaide/Tarndanya: Festival Plaza
  • Brisbane/Meanjin: Riverside Green, South Bank Parklands and King George Square
  • Canberra/Ngunnawal Country: Garema Place
  • Perth/Boorloo: Forrest Place
  • Sydney/Gadigal: Tumbalong Park

When do the Matildas play next?

They’ll be playing in Australia again in a few months, when they begin Olympic qualifier matches.

Each game will be held at the HBF Park in Perth/Boorloo.

  • October 26: Australia vs Iran 
  • October 29: Australia vs The Philippines
  • November 1: Australia vs Chinese Taipei

Tickets are already being sold to those matches via Ticketmaster, which you can access through the Matildas’ official website. 

Matildas players cheer reacting to a penalty shoot out in a large stadium

The Matildas will be back on the pitch in October. (AAP: Darren England)

What prize money do the teams get?

There’s two different types of prize money up for grabs for the FIFA Women’s World Cup: team prize money and player prize money.

Here’s what each of the 32 teams in the tournament will get, based on where they finished, all in US dollars:

  • Champions: $4.2 million
  • Runners-up: $3 million
  • Third: $2.6 million
  • Fourth: $2.4 million
  • Quarterfinals: $2.1 million
  • Round of 16: $1.8 million
  • Group stage: $1.5 million

How much do the players get?

For the first time, each player will get paid individually on top of what their teams earn, based on where they finished:

  • Champions: $270,000
  • Runners-up: $195,000
  • Third: $180,000
  • Fourth: $165,000
  • Quarterfinals: $90,000
  • Round of 16: $60,000
  • Group stage: $30,000

It all comes from a total prize pool of $US110 million ($168 million) — three times as much as was available for the 2019 World Cup in France.

It’s the most money FIFA has ever put on the table for the Women’s World Cup.

A tall gold trophy with a silver football at the top.

The Women’s World Cup champion team will take home $US4.2 million and this trophy.(AAP Image)

How does that compare to the Men’s World Cup?

It still pales in comparison.

Teams received $9 million for qualifying in the 2022 Men’s World Cup in Qatar, while the champions, Argentina, were awarded $42 million.

Players weren’t paid individually, so it was up to the teams to decide how to split their winnings.

But on the basis that each of the 23 players on the winning women’s squad receive $270,000, then add the $4.2 million for the team as a whole, you still only get around $10 million.

That’s less than a quarter of what the winning men received last year.

When is the next FIFA Women’s World Cup?

2027 — the Women’s World Cup is held every four years

The host country hasn’t been decided yet, but there are currently four bids in the running to host:

  • The Royal Belgian Football Association, the Royal Netherlands Football Association and the German Football Association (joint expression of interest)
  • The Brazilian Football Association
  • The South African Football Association
  • The US Soccer Federation and the Mexican Football Association (joint expression of interest)

We won’t find out where it’ll be held until the FIFA Congress meets in May next year.